Tim wrote:
Spell Failures, that do not earn Snag Points result in no loss of Spell Points. If it earns one or more Snag Points, then it also costs the caster the Spell Points that would have been required to cast the spell.
I like this option for its simplicity and it also makes sense. I agree with prongbuck that the inherent penalties are enough. Add in Snag Points, and it's failure enough. (http:///smile.gif)
Quick question. A party member attempted to cast the spell, Familiar. He failed the dice roll, but did not earn a snag.
The Familiar spell explicitly says that you can only cast it once per year. But following the suggestions in this thread, not earning a snag means he did not expend Spell Points, so that should mean the spell did not go off, and he would be able to retry the casting whenever. Agree/disagree?
Quick question. A party member attempted to cast the spell, Familiar. He failed the dice roll, but did not earn a snag.
The Familiar spell explicitly says that you can only cast it once per year. But following the suggestions in this thread, not earning a snag means he did not expend Spell Points, so that should mean the spell did not go off, and he would be able to retry the casting whenever. Agree/disagree?
Looks like I need to add errata to the Summon Familiar spell as well. When I wrote that it may only be cast once a year, I was presuming that the casting would be successful.
To me, a spell is only cast if the casting was successful (i.e. spell failures of any sort, regardless of whether or not they earn snag points, do not count against any limits on how often a spell may be cast).
The intention of the limit of once a year, is "one successful casting per year", so yes, I would agree that the character may make another attempt.
BTW, welcome to the forums! (http:///bigsmile.gif)
I have gone ahead and added errata to the errata page for Spell Failure.
In short, if the failed spell does not earn a snag point, the caster does not lose the spell points involved. If it earns a snag point, then he loses the spell points....
I am, also including an "Extended Spell Failure" option in the next Lirbam Novus (if I can ever get it completed - heheh).